The first new material since 2016
Cai Trefor
11:55 10th January 2019

Fat White Family are back with new single 'Feet'. Taken from their new album Serfs Up!, it's their first new material since 2016 and first released whilst signed Domino Records. Listen to it on Gigwise below.

The new Fat Whites music comes highly-anticipated for any fan as it's all been kept under wraps and the expectation it would be an uncompromising return was there.

Having spoken with frontman Lias Saoudi two years ago when he was on tour with Moonlandingz, he said: "We just signed a deal with Domino and the money's alright but it's not so alright that we can live in London for a year and make an album. I don't want to rush.” So the band holed up in a five-bed house in Sheffield for £700 and was the first house Saoudi had to call his own in about six years.

And being out of London up near the Pennines appears to have been a strong move creatively. 'Feet' is easily the most ambitious Fat White Family track yet. Its gripping string flourishes are up there with Sebastien Tellier's 'La Ritournelle's'.

In terms of personnel involved in making the album, Lias Saoudi has likely had an exciting cast of players that we don't know the full extent of yet. One notable guest they have announced is Baxter Dury on ‘Tastes Good With The Money’. 

The last time Fat White Family were playing live was at the 100 Club in July 2017. At the time, they were experimenting on stage with saxophones and left it very open ended as to what direction their third album could go. It was evident they were ill-content to repeat what had been before.

A statement released by the band affirms the lead single is part of a shift in direction that's palpable across the album.

It reads: "a lush and masterful work, lascivious and personal. Tropical, sympathetic and monumental, it invites the listener in rather than repel them through wilful abrasion. Fat White Family have broken previous default patterns of behaviour. As such, their third album heralds a new day dawning." We'll look forward to hearing more from it.

The Serfs Up! tracklist: 

‘I Believe In Something Better’
‘Vagina Dentata’
‘Kim’s Sunsets’
‘Fringe Runner’
‘Oh Sebastian’
‘Tastes Good With The Money’
‘Rock Fishes’
‘When I Leave’
‘Bobby’s Boyfriend’

More about:

Photo: Niall Green