A 12-track LP featuring the likes of Roy Orbison, Joni Mitchell, and Bob Dylan...
Andy Hill
02:50 7th December 2018

Soft-rock contrarian Morrissey has recorded an album of cover songs called ‘California Son’, featuring tracks originally recorded by Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan and Roy Orbison.

Morrissey has been beavering away in the studio with producer Joe Chiccarelli (Elton John, U2, White Stripes) on a project hinted at last month with his one-off rendition of ‘Back On The Chain Gang’ by the Pretenders.

A release date has yet to be set, but the 12 track LP is apparently ready to go and will be released by BMG.

Mozza recently began touring again, having been absent from the live scene for six months and cancelling all UK and European dates for ‘logistical’ reasons – likely related to activism on the part of ‘former fans’ who made no secret of their plans to hold anti-racism protests outside venues.

And small wonder he’s calling this covers record California Son – the Golden State hosted Morrissey at a recent gig at the Ventura Theatre, California, where he played a raft of golden-age faves including ‘How Soon Is Now?’, ‘Hairdresser on Fire’ (first play since 2004) ‘Sunny’ (not performed since 1999, that's last century bruvs) and ‘Is It Really So Strange?’ (2009).

He’s generally made himself scarce on this side of the pond though after a violent and sustained campaign of social media rage has been launched against him.

And just in case, like Mozza’s luckless ex, you’ve been in a coma and are wondering why everyone’s so pissed off with him, this year Morrissey made himself a lighting rod for bien pensant ire by referring to Hitler as “left wing” and suggesting that London Mayor Sadiq Khan “can not talk properly”, both in remarks on his own website for some batshit reason. 

He also stood up for that Tommy Robinson prat in audio recorded on blogging site Tremr.

Anyway, woo cover songs, here’s a tracklist:

1. Morning Starship (Jobriath)
02. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell)
03. Only A Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan)
04. Suffer The Little Children (Buffy Sainte Marie)
05. Days Of Decision (Phil Ochs)
06. It’s Over (Roy Orbison)
07. Wedding Bell Blues (Laura Nyro)
08. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
09. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett & the Union Gap)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon)
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

Photo: Patrick Gunning