He tells Lars Ulrich that he's got enough material
Julian Marszalek
13:08 9th April 2018

Former Oasis guitarist Noel Gallagher reckons he’s got enough material for two more solo records.

‘Live Forever’ hitmaker Gallagher was speaking with Metallica drummer Lars Ulrich on his Beats 1 show when he revealed his arsenal of unrecorded songs.

"I’ve got a whole backlog of songs, I write all the time so I’ve got plenty of material," Gallagher told the frequently maligned Metallica tubrthumper.

"I’m going to make another record with David [Holmes, producer of Who Built the Moon?] in this way but the last one took four years so I’ll probably have to make another one alongside it in the more traditional sense."

Gallagher then cast his mind back to the grim days that followed his split from Oasis. He walked out on the band in Paris in August 2009 after a backstage bust-up with younger brother Liam who’d swung a guitar at his head. Prior to that incident, relations between the brothers were so strained that they travelled separately on tour.

Joking with Ulrich, Gallagher said: “I remember, the day after I left Oasis I got a text from the drummer of Metallica. And he said to me, words to the effect of, ‘You’re either incredibly brave or incredibly fucking stupid!’

"And I text him back and said, ‘I think it’s going to be alright.’ I’m really happy about what we did in the past but I’m really fucking happy where I am now."

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds play a 12-date tour in April and May that will call in at London, Newcastle and Dublin among others.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds play:


22 - Brighton, Brighton Centre
24 - Glasgow, The SSE Hydro
25 - Aberdeen, BHGE Arena
27 - London, The SSE Arena Wembley
30 - Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena


01 - Birmingham, Birmingham Arena
03 - Newcastle, Metro Radio Arena
04 - Manchester, Manchester Arena
06 - Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena
07 - Leeds, First Direct Arena
09 - Belfast, The SSE Arena
10 - Dublin, 3Arena