Radiohead, Rage Against The Machine and Kate Bush among shortlist for the class of 2018
Andy Hill

15:34 5th October 2017

Cleveland’s Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame has just announced its nominees for induction in the hallowed museum next year.

Radiohead, Rage Against The Machine, Kate Bush, Nina Simone, Depeche Mode, and Judas Priest have all made the shortlist, as have Bon Jovi, The Cars, Eurythmics, Dire Straits, J. Geils Band, LL Cool J, MC5, The Meters, The Moody Blues, The Zombies, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Sister Rosetta Tharpe, and Link Wray.

An expert panel of around 800 industry insiders, artists and music historians will spend the next couple of months deliberating the relative merits of each artist, before announcing the five acts that will enter the Hall this coming December. A ceremony in April will then make the induction official, set to be broadcast on HBO at some point later in 2018.

For the sixth year running fans will also have the chance to nominate their pick for induction, in an online ballot at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame’s website, until 5 December.

In order to be eligible for nomination, an artists’ first recording has to have been released at least 25 years earlier. In the case of Rage Against The Machine and Radiohead, this is their first year of eligibility.

Though their early releases date back some time further Kate Bush, Nina Simone, Eurythmics, Judas Priest and Dire Straits are also nominated for the first time this year.

To address the longstanding of problem of bands whose lineups change dramatically over time this year, as last year, the panel are specifying which specific incarnation or iteration of a group’s personnel are eligible inclusion. For instance, Dire Straits’ lineup has varied radically since they were formed in 1977, but only frontman Mark Knopfler, bassist John Illsley, drummer Pick Withers, guitarist David Knopfler and keyboardists Alan Clark and Guy Fletcher appear on the ballot.

Last year’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees included Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur, Journey, Joan Baez, Electric Light Orchestra, and Yes.

Photo: Matt Crossick