Taken from their first studio album in over a decade
Cai Trefor
20:59 21st October 2016

The Rolling Stones have unveiled their cover of Little Walter’s ‘Hate To See You Go’, making it the second cut to see the light of day from their forthcoming album blues covers album, Blue & Lonesome.

The band famed for hits such as ‘Satisfaction’, ‘Gimme Shelter’ and ‘Street Fighting Man’ previously shared the track ‘Just Your Fool’, which sounds incredible. It gives insight as to the sort of music that shaped them as a band from an early age.

Similarly to the that, this latest track captures the feel of the blues era with vintage equipment and style of playing making it sound like we’re still in the ‘60s. The only thing that gives it away is the sounds are slightly bolder due to some engineering advances that have occurred but as a whole it’s beautifully vintage. You can listen to a snippet of it below.

The spirit of going in the studio and getting the job done quickly that was so key to a lot of the energy of the great records of our time was kept. According to a press release, the album was recorded in just three days at British Grove Studios in west London and sees the band return to “their roots and the passion for blues music”.

Jagger’s voice is remarkably strong and if he can sing this well still, hopefully we’ll see some UK tour dates. It would be a unique way for people to see The Stones if they do see a tour in support of this covers album. They're currently over in the US on their Zip Code tour and play Las Vegas tomorrow night (22 October). 

‘Blue & Lonesome’ also features covers of songs by, Willie Dixon, Jimmy Reed, Eddie Taylor and Howlin’ Wolf. It sees the band joined on record by touring members Darryl Jones (bass), Chuck Leavell (keyboards) and Matt Clifford (keyboards). Eric Clapton features on two tracks too.

Tracklisting for Blues & Lonesome which is out 2 December:

1. ‘Just Your Fool’
2. ‘Commit A Crime’
3. ‘Blue And Lonesome’
4. ‘All Of Your Love’
5. ‘I Gotta Go’
6. ‘Everybody Knows About My Good Thing’
7. ‘Ride ‘Em On Down’
8. ‘Hate To See You Go’
9. ‘Hoo Doo Blues’
10. ‘Little Rain’
11. ‘Just Like I Treat You’
12. ‘I Can’t Quit You Baby’


More about:

Photo: Wenn