The album will feature the likes of Emmylou Harris and Willy Nelson
Alexandra Pollard
12:45 3rd February 2016

Cyndi Lauper is set to release a country-themed covers album, which will include guest vocals from the likes of Emmylou Harris and Willy Nelson.

Lauper's 11th album, Detour, sees her putting her own spin on a dozen country classics from the '40s, '50s and '60s. It'll include guest appearances from Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss and Willy Nelson.

Lauper has revealed the first track from the album, 'Heartaches By The Number', a country standard previously covered by everyone from George Jones to Waylon Jennings.

Speaking of the album, Lauper said: "When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to. These songs are part of some of my earliest memories so it has been an absolute thrill to revisit them."

Detour is set for release on 6 May. See the full tracklisting below.

1. ‘Funnel Of Love’
2. ‘Detour’ (featuring Emmylou Harris)
3. ‘Misty Blue’
4. ‘Walkin’ After Midnight’
5. ‘Heartaches By The Number’
6. ‘The End Of The World’
7. ‘Night Life’ (featuring Willie Nelson)
8. ‘Begging To You’
9. ‘You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly’ (featuring Vince Gill)
10. ‘I Fall To Pieces”
11. ‘I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart’ (featuring Jewel)
12. ‘Hard Candy Christmas’ (featuring Alison Krauss)

Photo: Chapman Baehler, Press