The record will feature the best live performances from the Amy biopic
Will Butler
09:58 9th October 2015

In a continuing effort to milk Amy Winehouse's legacy for a sweet profit, an album containing all the best live performances from the film is due out later this month.

The new album collection will include live recordings of her most notable perfromances including 'Rehab' on Jools Holland and 'We're Still Friends' live at Union Chapel. 

The 23 track album will also feature the film's orginal score by composer Antonio Pinto, as well as a selection of rare demos, live performances and covers. The Amy soundtrack will be released 30 October. 

Asif Kapadia's film was released back in July and went to become the highest grossing British documentary of all time having gross £3.44 million - it's also an absolutely beautiful film. 

While the public have received the film with warm applause, Amy Winehouse's father, Mitch, has had several qualms with the film's production and it's aftermath - most recently expressing his disgust with Channel 5 for their 'Amy Autopsy' documentary.

Watch the trailer for Amy below

The DVD and Blu-ray release of Amy will follow the soundtrack on 2 November.

The tracklist for Amy is as follows:

1. 'Opening' - Antonio Pinto
2. 'Stronger Than Me' - Amy Winehouse
3. 'Poetic Finale' - Antonio Pinto
4. 'What Is It About Men [Live @ North Sea Jazz Festival]' - Amy Winehouse
5. 'Walk' – Antonio Pinto
6. 'Some Unholy War [Downtempo version]' - Amy Winehouse
7. 'Holiday Texts' - Antonio Pinto
8. 'Kidnapping Amy' - Antonio Pinto
9. 'Like Smoke [Demo]' - Amy Winehouse
10. 'Tears Dry On Their Own' - Amy Winehouse
11. 'Seperacao Fotos' – Antonio Pinto
12. 'The Name Of The Wave' – Strange Cargo
13. 'Back To Black [Acapella / Album Medley]' - Amy Winehouse
14. 'Cynthia' - Antonio Pinto
15. 'Rehab [Live on Jools Holland]' - Amy Winehouse
16. 'In the Studio' - Antonio Pinto
17. 'We're Still Friends [Live @ Union Chapel]' - Amy Winehouse
18. 'Amy Lives' - Antonio Pinto
19. 'Love Is A Losing Game [Live @ Mercury Awards]' - Amy Winehouse
20. 'Arrested' - Antonio Pinto
21. 'Body and Soul' - Amy Winehouse & Tony Bennett
22. 'Amy Forever' - Antonio Pinto
23. 'Valerie [Live @ BBC]' - Amy Winehouse

  • 11. 'Hey Little Rich Girl': Winehouse's cover of this Specials song shows her fondness for ska and reggae, and reflects the versatility of her musical output on the richly stimulating Back To Black B-sides.

  • 10. 'Valerie' feat. Mark Ronson: Winehouse and Ronson made The Zutons' mildly irritating indie-rock song into something richer and more soulful. Somehow, without changing a single word, Winehouse's delivery injected every line with a million times more bitterness, frustration and regret - all on top of Ronson's irresistibly buoyant instrumental.

  • 9. 'Addicted': The final track on Back To Black has a marvellous juxtaposition. The song, whilst being about smoking cannabis, is performed in a musical style that was popular in an era of pre-hippy conservatism.

  • 8. 'He Can Only Hold Her': Gospel backing choirs that, before now, have lingered in the background of Black To Black, are brought front and centre on 'He Can Only Hold Her', reflecting the diversity of ideas that went into creating her inimitable second album.

  • 7. 'In My Bed': The most intriguing cut from her debut album, Frank. The characteristically big vocal sound - enhanced by a choir of backing singers - is layered with a sense of emphatic playfulness. There's saxophone mixed in throughout, and solos on the outro that perfectly reflects her jazz influence.

  • 6. 'Love Is A Losing Game': The sentiment of the title alone is one resigned to gentle heartbreak, and it's a line that's repeated, with a slow, moving certainty, throughout the song. Despite the beauty of its delicate guitar playing, and adagio strings, it's Winehouse's voice - vulnerable and defiant at the same time - that packs the hardest punch.

  • 5. 'You Know I'm No Good': There's plenty of self-deprecation littered throughout Winehouse's music, but none more so than on this track. On the surface, with its rippling brass drum beat and infectious melody, you might assume a sort of playfulness in the chorus - but it's darker than that, dripping with a sense of inevitability about one's own flaws. "I cheated myself / Like I knew I would, / I told you I was trouble, / You know that I'm no good."

  • 4. 'Stronger Than Me': This is the first single from her debut album, and is a sultry patchwork of influences. Jazz, blues and soul are all present in a contemporary reworking.

  • 3. 'Tears Dry On Their Own': Though there's an attempt at defiance and independence in the song's chorus, Winehouse seems plagued by a sense that her self-doubt and self-destruction will only keep repeating itself. "Even if I stop wanting you / A perspective pushes through, I'll be some next man's other woman soon."

  • 2. 'Rehab': It's hard to listen to this song, once sung and received with such carefree defiance, without feeling a pang of regret. You'll know the chorus of course, but it's this verse that hits the hardest in light of Winehouse's fate: "I'm gonna lose my baby / So I always keep a bottle near. / He said, 'I just think you're depressed.' / This me: 'Yeah, baby, and the rest.'"

  • 1. 'Back to Black': 'Rehab' might have catapulted Winehouse to the reluctant global superstardom with which she struggled until the end, but it's 'Back To Black' that encapsulates her talent for raw, devastating poeticism and fluid, emotive vocals. Besides, is there an opening line more unapologetic and impactful than, "He left no time to regret / Kept his dick wet / With his same old safe bet"?

More about:

Photo: Press