Dre recently scrapped 15 year long project Detox
Alexandra Pollard

10:09 3rd August 2015

Dr. Dre has announced that his third and final album, Compton: A Soundtrack, will be released this Friday (7 August), after the rapper scrapped his much-anticipated album Detox.

Work for Detox began as far back as 2001. In 2004, co-producer Scott Storch described it as "the most advanced rap album musically and lyrically we'll probably ever have the chance to listen to."

As it turns out, we won't ever have the chance to listen to it - despite releasing two singles from it, including Eminem and Skylar Grey collaboration 'I Need A Doctor', Dre has now scrapped the entire album.

Explaining the decision, Dre said, "I didn't like it. It wasn't good. The record, it just wasn't good. … I worked my ass off on it, and I don't think I did a good enough job."

He's now revealed that his first album in 16 years will be called Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre, inspired by forthcoming biopic Straight Outta Compton, and will be released this Friday (7 August).

Amongst the bumper crop of guest collaborators on the album, which is Dre's third, are Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, The Game, Snoop Dogg and Eminem.

It also looks like this'll also be Dre's final album - speaking on his radio show, he said, "I felt myself being so inspired by the movie that I started to record an album. It's going to be my grand finale. The record is bananas."

See the full tracklisting for Compton: A Soundtrack by Dr. Dre below.

1. "Intro"
2. "Talk About It" (featuring King Mez and Justus)
3. "Genocide" (featuring Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius and Candice Pillay) Dem Jointz
4. "It's All on Me" (featuring Justus and BJ the Chicago Kid)
5. "All in a Day's Work" (featuring Anderson Paak and Marsha Ambrosius)
6. "Darkside/Gone" (featuring King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius and Kendrick Lamar)
7. "Loose Cannons" (featuring Xzibit and Cold 187um)
8. "Issues" (featuring Ice Cube and Anderson Paak)
9. "Deep Water" (featuring Kendrick Lamar and Justus) 
10. "One Shot One Kill" (Jon Connor featuring Snoop Dogg)
11. "Just Another Day" (The Game featuring Asia Bryant)
12. "For the Love of Money" (featuring Jill Scott and Jon Connor)
13. "Satisfiction" (featuring Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius and King Mez) Dem Jointz
14. "Animals" (featuring Anderson Paak)
15. "Medicine Man" (featuring Eminem, Candice Pillay and Anderson Paak) Dem Jointz
16. "Talking to My Diary"

More about:

Photo: WENN