Olly Alexander and co smash first ever Glasto
Andrew Trendell

18:21 27th June 2015

Years & Years made their Glastonbury debut, using the opportunity to pay tribute to the gay rights and homosexual equality as their stormed the John Peel stage this afternoon (Saturday 27 June).

"I'm so happy to see so many rainbow flags today," said frontman Olly Alexander to the packed-out tent. "I'm feeling very proud," he continued, before dedicating the massive single 'Shine' to any 'gay, lesbian, trans or bi' people in the crowd - noting the recent legalisation of gay marriage in the US. 

The trio proved exactly why they were named BBC's Sound Of  2015 with an impeccable set of synth-pop bangers. With backing singers and before an impressive light show of the artwork for their debut album Communion, Years & Years shone as singles 'Desire', 'Take Shelter' and their cover of Blu Cantrell's 'Breathe' proved early highlights, before the dance-inducing finale of 'Real' and 'King'. 

Expect them to return next year with a much bigger slot on a much, much bigger stage. 

Watch Years & Years performing 'Real' mashed up with Basemet Jaxx's 'Romeo' for Gigwise below

Glastonbury 2015 continues today with sets from Burt Bacharach, Years & Years, The Maccabees, Death From Above 1979, Jessie Ware, Pharrell Williams, Suede, Kanye West and many more. 

Check back at Gigwise for the latest news, reviews, photos, updates and more from Glastonbury 2015. 

Meanwhile, Years & Years' upcoming headline dates are as follows, with new dates added for a huge Autumn tour. For tickets and information, visit here.

Fri October 09 2015 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy Birmingham
Sat October 10 2015 - NORWICH UEA
Sun October 11 2015 - NOTTINGHAM Rock City
Tue October 13 2015 - SHEFFIELD O2 Academy Sheffield
Wed October 14 2015 - LEEDS O2 Academy Leeds
Fri October 16 2015 - NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE O2 Academy Newcastle
Sat October 17 2015 - GLASGOW O2 ABC
Sun October 18 2015 - MANCHESTER Albert Hall
Tue October 20 2015 - LIVERPOOL O2 Academy Liverpool
Wed October 21 2015 - BRISTOL O2 Academy Bristol
Thu October 22 2015 - CARDIFF University Great Hall
Sat October 24 2015 - BRIGHTON Centre
Mon October 26 2015 - SOUTHEND Cliffs pavillion
Wed October 28 2015 - LONDON O2 Academy Brixton
Wed November 04 2015 - BELFAST Mandela Hall

  • Yeas & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

  • Years & Years

More about:


Photo: Wenn