Self-titled debut to drop again on 31 July
Andrew Trendell

10:30 18th June 2015

Placebo have announced the re-release of their seminal debut album on special edition vinyl, followed by the rest of their first five albums later in the year. 

This year sees the band mark their 20th anniversary - and will be kicking off the celebrations by re-releasing the Record Store Day edition of their self-titled debut on limited edition red vinyl on 31 July.

Released back in June 1996, Placebo contains the classics 'Nancy Boy', 'Come Home' and '36 Degrees', as well as fan favourites 'Bionic', 'Teenage Angst' and 'I Know'. Combined with the other albums due for re-release, it makes for a beautiful package:

The band will not only be uploading rare archive and live footage to their Youtube account on 31 July, but to coincide with the vinyl, Placebo will also be releasing a collection of b-sides from the era of their debut to streaming and digital services. The tracklist is as follows:

1. Drowning By Numbers
2. Oxygen Thief
3. Dark Globe
4. Hare Krishna
5. Been Smoking Too Long
6. Hug Bubble
7. Teenage Angst (Amsterdam VPRO Session)
8. Flesh Mechanic (Demo)
9. Slackerbitch
10. Bigmouth Strikes Again
11. Hug Bubble (Brad Wood Mix)
12. Nancy Boy (Sex Mix)
13. Eyesight To The Blind
14. Swallow (Designer & U-Sheen Mix)
15. Miss Moneypenny
16. Then The Clouds Will Open For Me
17. Bruise Pristine (One Inch Punch Remix)
18. Waiting For The Son Of Man

The band will be re-issuing their first five albums on vinyl throughout the next year, Release dates are as follows:

Placebo - 31 July 2015
Without You I’m Nothing - September 2015
Black Market Music - November 2015
Sleeping With Ghosts - February 2016
MEDS - April 2016

More about:

Photo: WENN