Anna Calvi, Sunn O))) and more will perform
Alexandra Pollard

10:08 28th April 2015

The line-up for the David Byrne-curated London festival Meltdown has been announced, and includes Anna Calvi, Young Marble Giants and Sunn O))).

The two-week long festival takes place at London's Southbank Centre in August. Speaking of his recruitment as curator, Byrne said, "This is going to be exciting! I plan to invite performers I've seen - and I do get out - and others I've missed of have dreamed of seeing."

The line-up for the festival has now been revealed, with Anna Calvi set to perform an intimate show at Queen Elizabeth Hall with a 12-piece choir. The music of cult Nigerian funk musician William Onyeabor will also be celebrated by the stage show Atomic Bomb!

Elsewhere on the eclectic line-up is Cardiff post-punk band Young Marble Giants, electronic musician Matthew Herbert, Dirty Projectors' David Longstreth and drone-metal band Sunn O))).

Previous curators of the festival have included David Bowie, Patti Smith, Morrissey, Nick ccave, John Peel and Yoko One. Musical highlights from previous shows have included Jeff Buckley's last UK performance, the New York Dolls reuniting and Pete Doherty singing Disney songs for Jarvis Cocker.

More shows for Meltdown Festival, which takes place between 17 and 28 August, are still set to be announced, but you can see the full line-up so far here.

Photo: Facebook