by Will Butler Contributor | Photos by Danny Payne / Emma Violalilja / Press

Tags: Wolf Alice, Skepta, Jungle, Flying Lotus, Enter Shikari, Young Fathers, FKA Twigs 

Wolf Alice, Skepta and Jungle clean up at AIM awards 2015

The independent music awards also awarded Flying Lotus, Swans and Enter Shikari


Wolf Alice, Skepta, Jungle, Swans, Flying Lotus at AIM awards 2015 Photo: Danny Payne / Emma Violalilja / Press

Wolf Alice, Flying Lotus, Swans and Jungle all went home winners at the AIM awards last night (Tuesday 8 September). See the full list of winners below.

The Association of Independent Music awards celebrated another triumphant year of alternative music as it unveiled it's winners of 2015.

The ceremony was hosted by XFM's John Kennedy and Radio 1's Alice Levine and featured live performances from Alvvays and rising grime star, Stormzy.

Among the highlights were Michael Eavis presenting Enter Shikari with Independent Album of The Year for their The Mindsweep record, Wolf Alice being recognised with the Independent Breakthrough of the Year award, Swans rightfully awarded the Hardest Working Band Award and Flying Lotus recognised for the sensational visuals of 'Never Catch Me' receiving the Independent Video of the Year Award.

Watch the award winning video for 'Never Catch Me' below

The Independent Music Award winners:

Best Small Label: Erased Tape Records

Best Difficult Second Album: Young Fathers - ‘White Men Are Black Men Too’

Special Catalogue Release of the Year: Cities of Darkscorch Boardgame

Hardest Working Band or Artist: Swans

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival: Brainchild Festival Independent

Breakthrough of the Year: Wolf Alice

Indie Champion: Marc Riley, BBC 6 Music

Independent Video of the Year: Flying Lotus - ‘Never Catch Me’

Best Live Act: All Time Low

Independent Track of the Year: FKA Twigs - ‘Two Weeks’

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act: Jungle

Independent Album of the Year: Enter Shikari - ‘The Mindsweep’

Independent Label of the Year: Transgressive Records

Pioneer Award: Digby Pearson, Earache Records

Innovator Award: Peter Quicke, Matt Black and Jonathan More of Ninja Tune

Outstanding Contribution to Music: Skepta

Below: Photos of Wolf Alice storming Reading 2015

Will Butler


Gigwise is a community of music writers and photographers. Sign up now

Artist A-Z #  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z